Home > Uncategorized > m1000 custom cards: a designer’s quandry

m1000 custom cards: a designer’s quandry


I have stumbled across a terrific problem. It’s akin to a coach figuring out how to disperse playing time among his players with a load of talent, such as the Dallas Mavericks, as opposed to having rookies and journeymen like the Charlotte Bobcats.

I have been using inspiration from 90’s inserts to build my custom card images for the last few weeks. I recently came up with three insert sets, with elements borrowed from the 90’s.

The firt set was All NBA Team,to commemorate the starting 5 named a few days ago. For this set, I tried to replicate the foil of 97 Precious Metal Gems as well as the sheen from 97 Essential Credentials.  I came up with my own die cut shape and the result was this:
Photobucket

The second set was inspired by the game pieces from the Monopoly board game. These are the little property cards you get when you purchase a space on the board. I took that design and threw a recognizable 90’s Topps Chrome finish over it. The card looked like this:

The last set was fun. I pretty much came up with it from scratch using a stone image as my initial inspiration then simply following the crack lines to build a die cut. I put an Essential Credentials sheen over the set name, which reminds me of The Flintstones. The player image is meant to look like it is embedded in the stone and the glowing ball was just added because I thought it would be good to have a splash of color. In the end, it reminded me of 97 Ultra Platinum Medallions. Here’s how it turned out:

I was pretty pleased with the design of all of these and had no plans to change their look. So my wonderful problem came up because, while I was designing these, I came up with a honeycomb refractor like finish. I thought, “huh, let me see what it looks like if I apply on the new images.” The results were, in my opinion….stunning. In really brougt out the colors and made the three inserts vibrant. Now, I don’t know if I should make the cards as initially intended or add the honeycomb refractor finish to all of them. What to do????

I’m pretty sure you want to see what I saw, right? Well, here they are:

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 15, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Nice looking stuff. I say keep the honeycomb. I especially like it on the Kobe.

  2. May 15, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    by the way, how did you “apply” the honeycomb finish? Is it just another layer in photoshop set on something other than normal?

    • hupe royalty
      May 15, 2011 at 6:28 pm

      yeah it was another layer i put above the brown foil layer. it basically the honeycomb shape with a pink/blue gradiant, repeated over and over. i believe i set it on on overlay or dark color

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

